Tatjana Soli and Hilary Spurling awarded the James Tait Black Memorial Prize

The winners of the James Tait Black Memorial Prize for 2011 have been announced. The prize honors works of fiction and biography, and has been awarded since 1919. This year’s winners are Tatjana Soli’s The Lotus Eaters (for fiction) and Hilary Spurling’s Pearl Buck in China: Journey to The Good Earth (for biography).

The Lotus Eaters is Soli’s debut novel: you can read an interview with Soli here in which she discusses the inspiration and contexts behind her novel, or watch her interview with Nancy Pearl.

Spurling is also renowned as the biographer of English literary figures including Ivy Compton-Burnett and Paul Scott – you may wish to take a look at the Library’s holdings in Spurling’s work.

You can also consult this year’s shortlist, and view past winners in fiction and biography, at the James Tait Black Prize homepage.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s