International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award: the longlist

The longlist for 2011’s International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award has been announced. Based out of Ireland’s Dublin City Public Libraries, this prestigious award’s potential winners are nominated by libraries worldwide, and the award currently carries the greatest cash prize of any literary award  (€100,000).

You can view the longlist of 157 nominees here. Nominated titles represent a wide range of international literatures, many having been translated from European, Asian and Eastern European languages, in addition to a number of titles by English and American authors.

This year’s longlist includes a number of titles that have won other literary prizes, such as Per Petterson’s I Curse the River of Time (winner of the Nordic Council Literature Prize; Petterson also won the 2007 IMPAC Award for Out Stealing Horses), Jennifer Egan’s A Visit from the Goon Squad (winner of the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction and the National Book Critics Circle Award for Fiction), Jaimy Gordon’s Lord of Misrule (winner of the National Book Award for Fiction) and Howard Jacobson’s The Finkler Question (winner of the Man Booker Prize).

Last year’s prize-winner was Colum McCann for his novel Let the Great World Spin.

Other resources available on the site for the IMPAC Dublin Literary Award include an award archive (with longlists and shortlists of nominated titles going back to the award’s beginnings in 1996) and an FAQ which includes information on the judges choosing the winner annually.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s